VisualTrader Forum VisualTrader Forum
forums calendars search
today this week
 
register logon control panel Forum Rules
You are currently browsing as a guest.
You should logon to access more features
A Self-Moderated Community - ALL MEMBERS, PLEASE READ!
Vote for Members who contribute the most to your trading, and help us moderate content within the Forums.


  Current location        Thread information  
VisualTrader Forums
Strategies for Using VisualTrader
Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Options
Last Activity 4/13/2017 9:43 AM
12 replies, 1146 viewings

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
 
back reply
Printer friendly version

^ Top
Matthew B

Member

Posts: 7

Joined: 4/11/2017
Location: Racine

User Profile
 
Subject : Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Options
Posted : 4/11/2017 7:45 AM
Post #13122

I am new to Visual Trader and will be getting Option Trader today.
I am asking for any advise to help me make the most of the system.
I would like to find one of the best Strategies to purchase that will provide decent signals for further exploration.
I currently do have MetaStock so I do have access to a few strategies there, however I am still working on how to efficiently take my symbol list from a MetaStock scan and pasting it into Visual Trader. (MetaStock uses suffixes in many of the symbols that are traded in multiple markets)

Any help would be appreciated to help me to hit the floor running.
Thanks.


[Edited by Matthew B on 4/11/2017 7:47 AM]

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Icon
100050010010010010025
Posts: 1944

Joined: 2/12/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Optio
Posted : 4/11/2017 9:39 AM
Post #13123 - In reply to #13122

Hi Matthew,

Can you give me an example of a list of symbols you want to port over? Does it consist of mostly US stocks, or is it mixed with other exchange symbols? Any futures or forex? Are you using Metastock Legacy data or Xenith?

^ Top
Matthew B

Member

Posts: 7

Joined: 4/11/2017
Location: Racine

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Optio
Posted : 4/11/2017 11:12 AM
Post #13124 - In reply to #13123

NR RUSL.K IRDM.O MCRB.O CALL.O AYA.O ESPR.O SUPN.O AMX FPO MMYT.O ROIAK.O DMRC.O AXU ACIA.O GDEN.O SHOP.K JBL HOME.K AAN GMED.K CCMP.O JBLU.O AVXL.O FNFV.K RSX KBH CBF.O RGEN.O HCCI.O INGN.O ZGNX.O TTS.O BVN MTGE.O LOGI.O XCRA.O ZYNE.O CMCO.O TU TWO COLM.O FLWS.O ATRC.O ANGI.O NAP SHAK.K CXP CYBR.O SFLY.O BABY.O FBHS.K CRVL.O CHKP.O KNOP.K IYR MODN.K TMHC.K CZR.O VMW AMAT.O PIZ.O BXMT.K ZAYO.K CPT RBA ORBC.O SNN NHTC.O WD PBFX.K CRME.O TV SNC.O NVDQ.O SPXS.K KBAL.O TX CAA PCLN.O YHOO.O SDS LOW MTH CELG.O DRH R WNS PYPL.O MACK.O INGR.K ROL BCR ALIM.O AME HEI TFX LECO.O MRCY.O GURU.K COW GPK PNNT.O LHO SGU BDX HEIa ORIT.O RYH BNS NUAN.O ANGO.O PSDV.O THFF.O MOAT.K ABY.O AZPN.O IHE PEZ.O GHDX.O FISV.O OA PJP TTWO.O HRB RUSHA.O TNET.K UNH WSTC.O PBH LGND.O TJX WUBA.K AJRD.K RGC FFBC.O HTLF.O HUM BTG PTX.O IBCP.O P YNDX.O DPLO.K EGBN.O BRFS.K EBIX.O KITE.O CTIC.O GLOB.K SNSS.O ADHD.O FCAU.K KODK.K FBP NMM SSH.O
^ Top
Matthew B

Member

Posts: 7

Joined: 4/11/2017
Location: Racine

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Optio
Posted : 4/11/2017 11:18 AM
Post #13126 - In reply to #13123

As you can see, most of the symbols have a suffix.
So yes, many of the symbols are traded on multiple exchanges which would require MetaStock to separate them with a suffix.

I am also trying to figure out an efficient way to get the option data attached to my list without having to do it symbol by symbol.
Is there a way to have all available option chain data updated for all symbols on current list?
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Icon
100050010010010010025
Posts: 1944

Joined: 2/12/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Optio
Posted : 4/11/2017 2:32 PM
Post #13127 - In reply to #13126

Are you using Metastock Legacy data (using the Downloader) or Xenith (with Eikon)?

Option trading in VT is only supported for US Stocks. You wouldn't be able to use it to trade non US stock options. You should be able to get chart data for them though. But again, I need to know what data you're using first.

^ Top
Matthew B

Member

Posts: 7

Joined: 4/11/2017
Location: Racine

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Optio
Posted : 4/11/2017 2:50 PM
Post #13128 - In reply to #13127

I have MetaStock RT so I am getting realtime data via Xenith.
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Icon
100050010010010010025
Posts: 1944

Joined: 2/12/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Optio
Posted : 4/11/2017 4:57 PM
Post #13129 - In reply to #13124

I see, thanks. There really isn't any way to get that list into VT other than one by one.

1. Click Edit -> Symbol List.
2. Select the country you want.
3. Locate the symbol in that country database & add it to the map.
4. Repeat step 3 until you have all the symbols from that country.
5. Repeat steps 2-4 for the enxt country & so on.

It's a tedious process, but probably only needs to be done once. I will check with our development to see if there's any way to make it better.

^ Top
Matthew B

Member

Posts: 7

Joined: 4/11/2017
Location: Racine

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Optio
Posted : 4/11/2017 5:20 PM
Post #13130 - In reply to #13122

The list isn't that big of a problem right now, however it would be nice to have options data for the symbols loaded without having to add the options 1 at a time.
When I load a list into the map, I get a message saying that the symbol non optionable.
Maybe an option to load all optionable data for current list.

Another question is:
Does OptionTrader use my Xenith data for option data or is it using the Free Delayed data from OmniData? (I have my data set to Xenith)
^ Top
Barry Cohen

Icon
100050010010010010025
Posts: 1944

Joined: 2/12/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Optio
Posted : 4/12/2017 9:52 AM
Post #13131 - In reply to #13130

Your US stock symbols are showing non optionable?

OptionTrader uses OmniData for option chain data currently, but that may change to Xenith in the near future.

^ Top
Matthew B

Member

Posts: 7

Joined: 4/11/2017
Location: Racine

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Optio
Posted : 4/12/2017 10:21 AM
Post #13132 - In reply to #13122

Thank you.
I figured out the problem with the option data.
I had forgot or overlooked downloading and installing the OmniDataPackage.exe file.
Now I'm having another issue.
I keep getting error messages and my platform is freezing up and crashing.
Here is a screen shot.
https://www.screencast.com/t/60DjNGv6Kv

Attached file : 2017-04-12_0933.png (211KB - 102 downloads)
Attached file : 2017-04-12_0940.png (270KB - 100 downloads)

^ Top
Barry Cohen

Icon
100050010010010010025
Posts: 1944

Joined: 2/12/2004

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Optio
Posted : 4/12/2017 10:45 AM
Post #13134 - In reply to #13132

Matthew, I would like you to talk with one of our support reps regarding that error. Can you contact our support team or could I have someone contact you?
^ Top
Matthew B

Member

Posts: 7

Joined: 4/11/2017
Location: Racine

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Optio
Posted : 4/12/2017 10:52 AM
Post #13135 - In reply to #13134

Absolutely.
I am in your system.
My customer number is 495498
I would post my phone number in here, but it's a public forum and I'm not sure about doing that.

Matthew Brown
^ Top
LSJ

Member

Posts: 21

Joined: 9/27/2016
Location: Citrus Springs, FL

User Profile
 
Subject : RE: Seeking Advise for Beginners with VT and Optio
Posted : 4/13/2017 9:43 AM
Post #13137 - In reply to #13122

Just some friendly input to consider for trading options. I am not an expert but there are some fundamental concepts that need to be kept in mind.
Primarily some understanding of the greeks - mainly delta, theta and implied volatility. One of the first lessons i learned is I could be right directionally and lose money because of IV changing.
When I use OT or VT for options I always use the setting for limiting the contracts to those with sufficient volume. A lot of positions will be found that are not tradeable if this is not used. Liquidity is king <:)
I would also like to see Optiontrader include delta and theta in the result columns.
Frankly, I am trading options with a different platform because at this point with Otrader I feel a little like I have one hand tied behind my back. I'm confident OT will get better with future updates.

[Edited by LSJ on 4/13/2017 9:49 AM]

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
back reply

Legend    Action      Notification  
Administrator
Forum Moderator
Registered User
Unregistered User
E-Mail this thread to a friend
(un)/Freeze thread |
Toggle e-mail notification


Nirvana Systems
For any problems or issues please contact our Webmaster at webmaster@nirvsys.com.